Master in Consumer Science (MCS)

Overview

The Master in Consumer Science (MCS) program is offered by the TUM School of Management (TUM SOM) and combines management studies with social and consumer sciences. Students come from various countries and have different academic backgrounds. Graduates of this program are especially interesting for companies, governments, NGOs and research institutions all over the globe that are looking for candidates who, aside from their experiences abroad, understand how consumers operate in certain economic, social and environmental contexts – always against the backdrop of ongoing digitization.

Program Structure

The Master in Consumer Science is a full-time program over the course of 4 semesters, starting every winter term. It can entirely be accomplished in English, although several German modules are available. Lectures take place at the Campus Weihenstephan as well as at the downtown campus in Munich.

Courses over the first and second semester familiarize students with the theoretical and methodical fundamentals necessary for the later momre advanced practice-oriented course program. After completing the first semester, students choose a specialization in management and the project studies for their second and third semester. The fourth semester is dedicated to writing the Master’s Thesis.

Details

The fundamental modules include Consumer Behavior, Qualitative, Quantitative and Consumer Behavior Research Methods as well as Consumer Analytics & Big Data. In the Economics Module one out of two options can be chosen.

Consequently students decide for one of the following Specializations in Management:

  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship (I&E)
  • Marketing, Strategy and Leadership (MSL)
  • Consumers, Technology and Sustainability (CTS)

Modules that are not covered by the chosen specialization are also available – as all other master courses of the TUM – to be taken in the module Electives in Consumer Science & Technology. You will find the proposed study plan on the website of the Faculty.

The program also provides and encourages students to study abroad. This includes a Double Degree offered in conjunction with the University of Wageningen in the Netherlands.

Admission

Eligible applicants for the Master in Consumer Science have earned a Bachelor’s degree (at least 6 semesters at minimum 180 ECTS) in Management, Business Administration, Macroeconomics, Sociology or an equivalent discipline, or have completed specialized socio-ecologic courses with at least 30 credits in their previous course of studies. Applicants must also pass the regular admissions test.

For Applications involving an exchange semester or the Double Degree, applicants must also complete the admission procedure of the respective partner universities.

For additional information, please visit the faculty website or contact us via Mail.

For additional information and suggestions of improvement for the study program you can contact the Quality Circle MCS via Mail.

Master in Consumer Science (MCS)

Überblick

Der Studiengang Master in Consumer Science (MCS) wird von der TUM School of Management (TUM SOM) angeboten und kombiniert Management mit den Sozial- und Verbraucherwissenschaften. Die Studierenden kommen aus den verschiedensten Ländern und haben unterschiedliche akademische Ausbildungen. Absolventen dieses Studienganges sind interessant für Firmen, Regierungen, NGOs und Forschungseinrichtungen auf der ganzen Welt, denn sie suchen nach Mitarbeitern, die neben ihrer Auslandserfahrung auch verstehen, wie Konsumenten im ökonomischen, sozialen und ökologischen Kontext handeln – alles vor dem Hintergrund der fortschreitenden Digitalisierung.

Aufbau

Der Studiengang Master in Consumer Science ist ein Vollzeitstudium, dauert 4 Semester und beginnt jedes Wintersemester.  Er kann zu hundert Prozent in Englisch absolviert werden, jedoch stehen auch einige deutsche Module zur Wahl. Die Vorlesungen finden sowohl am Campus Weihenstephan, als auch am Hauptcampus in München statt.

In den Kursen des ersten und zweiten Semesters werden die theoretischen und methodischen Grundlagen gelehrt, die für den weiteren, fachbezogeneren Studienverlauf benötigt werden. Nach dem ersten Semester wählen die Studierenden eine Vertiefung im Managementbereich und das Projektstudium für das zweite und dritte Semester. Im vierten Semester schreiben sie ihre Masterarbeit.

Details

Zu den Grundlagenfächern zählen Consumer Behavior, Qualitative, Quantitative sowie Consumer Behavior Research und Consumer Analytics & Big Data. Im Bereich Economics wird eines aus zwei möglichen Modulen gewählt.

Anschließend entscheiden sich die Studierende für eine der folgenden Specializations in Management:

  • Innovation and Entrepreneurship (I&E)
  • Marketing, Strategy and Leadership (MSL)
  • Consumers, Technology and Sustainability (CTS)

Fächer, die nicht Teil der Spezialisierung sind können trotzdem – ebenso wie alle anderen Master-Kursen der TUM – im Wahl-Modul Electives in Consumer Science & Technology belegt werden. Den vorgeschlagenen Studienaufbau findest Du auf der Website der Fakultät.

Es ist außerdem möglich und wird begrüßt, im Ausland zu studieren. Im Rahmen dessen können die Studierenden einen „Double Degree“ mit der Universität Wageningen in den Niederlanden erlangen.

Zulassung

Geeignete Bewerber für den Master in Consumer Science haben einen Bachelorabschluss (min. 6 Studiensemester mit min 180 ECTS) in Management, Betriebswirtschaft, Volkswirtschaft, Soziologie, einem äquivalenten Fach oder absolvierten sozio-ökologische Kurse mit mindestens 30 Credits in ihrem vorherigen Fach. Außerdem muss das reguläre Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren durchlaufen werden.

Bei Bewerbung um ein Austauschsemester oder den Double Degree muss auch das entsprechende Zulassungsverfahren der Partneruniversitäten durchlaufen werden.

Für mehr Details informierst Du dich am besten auf der Website der Fakultät oder schreibst uns einfach eine Mail.

Für weitere Informationen und Anregungen zur Verbesserung des Studiengangs kannst Du Dich jederzeit an den Quality Circle MCS per Mail wenden.