Fachschaft TUM SOM

FAQ – Questions about Studying at TUM School of Management

We have created a list of FAQs to help you get started with your studies.

If your question is not answered here, please send us an e-mail and we will be happy to help you.

Technical University of Munich

What is the Student Council and where is it located?

You will often hear of the Student Council TUM SOM, or as it is called in German “Fachschaft”. It consists only of students, who decided to spend some of their free time helping you out with whatever need you have, as far as possible. It consists of students from the TUM School of Management who aim to improve your studies wherever possible. We are your very first contact for personal needs or any concerns towards lectures.
Our rooms are located on the third floor of the TUM School of Management building. The room number of our office is 3574. If you’re not in Germany or we can’t find a time that works for you, you can always contact us via our contact form.

So far, I have only been able to find the English version of the faculty website. Where can I find information in German?

The faculty website is only available in English at the moment. For information about all programs in German, please consult our website. For further information in English about the academic offering, please visit the TUM Website.

What is the TUM Campus App?

The TUM Campus App is an app for all mobile phones with iOS or Android, designed especially for TUM students. After signing in with you TUM online ID the app and its features shall help you in your daily student life.
Packed with these features, the app will become your trusty companion on the campus:

  •  A calendar with your personal schedule and important appointments. You’ll never be late for lectures again
  • The room finder, the most useful feature for freshmen and the new students on the campus of Munich or Garching. Put in the name or the number of the room you are looking for, and the app shows you on a clear map the place you have to go
  • The food plan of the cafeteria at every campus is updated daily, so you will always know when it’s time to take a trip to the “Mensa” for lunch
  • Be up to date with what is going on in our university and our faculty with the NEWS feature. Whether it’s important announcements, guest lectures, or just interesting articles, you will find them there.

The TUM Campus App is available for download in App store and the Google Play Store!

Where can I find the timetable for my current semester?

Basically, you are free to set your own timetable, as long as you follow some general rules. In the first and second semester of the TUM-BWL Bachelor, you need to make sure to complete all of your required GOPs (Fundamental and Orientation Exams). But by far the easiest method is to follow the suggested timetable issued by the faculty. You can find the official timetable by clicking on this link. You can also view your personal timetable on the TUMonline under “Timetable”. This also where you will be notified of cancelled lectures.

You can also access the TUMonline -> Timetable -> TUM BWL B.Sc. to view all active courses and create your own timetable.

I noticed that some lectures are being recorded. Is there a chance to watch the videos?

Definitely. All recordings of lectures at the TUM School of Management are posted online on the Lecturio platform. All you need is complete the one-time registration using your TUM email address in order to access all recordings, playable at different speeds. For technical specializations, many lecture recordings are posted on Moodle.

When are the dates for retake exams?

The retake exams for the lectures from TUM School of Management are scheduled for the following semester. For the technical specialization, it depends on the faculty. For electrical engineering and mechanical engineering, the retakes take place in the next semester, at the beginning of the lecture-free period, similar to the retakes of our faculty. For Informatics and Chemistry the retakes are usually at the end of the semester break.

The date of the exam is usually set before the middle of the semester. A small trick: if you look up in TUMonline the past reservation of exam rooms, you might sometimes find also a reservation of a past exam. The probability that the day of the exam will change in the current year is quite low. This technique is a bit costly in terms of time, but it might be the only option.

Can I register for an exam after the sign-up period has elapsed?

You need to use your TUMonline account to register for exams, and registration deadlines are locked into the system. For this reason, it is NOT possible to sign up for an exam after the registration period is over. Even a request to the chair or a faculty representative will not help to get a late registration, as sign-up is only possible via TUMonline.

That’s why it is of utter importance to keep all deadlines in mind for important exams and register on time. Even if you end up not wanting to take the exam, you can cancel your registration up until one week before the exam, without getting a 5.0X on your scorecard.

I would like to improve and expand my soft skills. Is there a course offering for that?

There are plenty of opportunities. Find targeted ways to train your soft skills at the Center of Key Competencies, the Carl von Linde Academy or the TUM School of Management (Faculty).

Are there additional study materials I can use supplied by the university?

In addition to study materials on Moodle, some faculty websites offer additional teaching and study materials. Online you can also find a variety of summaries and quick guides on course subjects. Plus, you can download lots of related content on StudyDrive.

I will start studying at TUM soon. Do I need to bring certain equipment such as a laptop or tablet?

Not necessarily. You do not need to have specific devices or operating systems. However, we do recommend that students purchase either a lightweight laptop or tablet. And did you know: As a TUM student, you can obtain lots of products such as Microsoft Office either for free or at a student discount. In case you did not bring your own computer, you may access our computer labs on campus whenever you need.

Living in Munich

What is the Semesterticket?

With your TUM student ID card you are allowed use all services of the MVV network from 6 pm to 6 am during the week, and without time limits during the weekend and on public holidays. This service is included in the tuition fee you pay at the beginning of the semester.
The additional MVV semester ticket is the IsarCard Semester for students which allows you to take S-Bahn, subways, busses and certain trains in the MVV network without any time limitations.

Where and how to get it?
You can buy it at every MVV ticket vending machine. After choosing the university you belong to, you have to enter your student ID number. Always carry your student ID and the ticket together when taking the public transportation services and have fun exploring Munich and the places around whenever you want.

How does health insurance work in Germany?

Every student in Germany needs to have a health-insurance. You should already have a health-insurance before coming to Germany.

To get some information please visit https://www.studying-in-germany.org/health-insurance-germany/

Where to get a Bank Account?

There are a lot of free bank accounts for international students.

You can find an overview of some bank accounts here:

http://banksgermany.com/top-11-german-banks-international-students/

Here you find what you need for opening a bank account:

https://www.expatica.com/de/finance/Opening-a-bank-account-in-Germany_100947.html

Please keep in mind that we pay a lot in cash here in Germany. Therefore you should choose a bank account where you easily withdraw money without fees.

Many banks provide nowadays online-verification methods to verify your identity for opening a bank account.

How can I find accommodation in Munich?

Finding accommodation in Munich is not an easy step. You should start searching early for a place to live. Here are some suggestions that might help you get an apartment faster:

  1. Send as many e-mails/messages as possible asking to visit the apartment – not everyone who posted an announcement will answer back
  2. Prepare the required documents – proofs of income, guarantees and even a CV might increase the landlord’s trust in you.
  3. Make a good impression when you visit the flat – bring the needed documents with you and ask questions, showing that you are interested in getting the room. Also, smile and be kind.
  4. Decide quickly when you get a positive response –not all your visits will result in an affirmative answer from the landlord. So when you receive an offer, consider its benefits and downsides and let the owner know about your decision as soon as possible, before they turn to someone else.

Now some ideas about where you can search for a room:

Be prepared to make trade-offs between the price, the size and the location of the flat. The perfect room might be impossible to find.

ATTENTION! Never transfer money nor send copies of your documents unless you are 100% sure that the flat actually exists. The Internet is full of frauds.

Where to get cheap furnitures?

For cheap furniture in Germany, there are some options.

Ikea is one of the biggest furniture provider in Munich, you might already have heard of it, their furniture is easily constructed and very price-efficient.
There are two big locations: Eching and Brunnthal
Another option would be Ebay Kleinanzeigen, which provides used furniture which is usually in very good or good condition. There is the website or also an app available on App Store/ Play Store. You have to set the correct region then you are already ready to find your right furniture.
Last but not least, there are several blackboards, in the cantine as well as in the StuCafe. You will find more online as well by searching „black board Munich“.

The University Sports Center/ ZHS (Zentraler Hochschulsport)

What do I need in order to take advantage of the ZHS’ facilities and classes?

Anyone who wishes to participate in classes or use the facilities of the ZHS must own a ZHS participant ID with the appropriate tags for each class. The IDs and semester tags are issued at the TUM Campus at Olympia Park. For a ZHS ID, you need to bring along the following:

  • Online order confirmation of the corresponding tag(s)
  • One-time signed SEPA mandate (permission form for direct debit)
  • Student ID (Student card)
  • Recent passport picture (min. 2.5 x 4 cm) (no digital copy)

Keep in mind that the online confirmation of the reservation does not replace the tag.

What are the semester tags?

The Semester Tags (“Semestermarken” in German) are your key of access to the different areas where the classes take place. There are four tags you can use: Tag H,Tag S, Tag F and Tag K

  • Events in the swimming pool (classes and open swimming): Tag S
  • All other events: Tag H
  • Access to fitness studios and rehabilitation: Tags H+F
  • Access to climbing facility: Tags H+K

In order to get the Tags F or K, you need to own the F-Stamp, respectively the K-Stamp. You can obtain these stamps by taking part in an introduction class in these sports. For the introduction classes you are only required to own Tag H.

For more information please visit the website of the ZHS, under FAQ.

What classes are provided?

The ZHS offers classes in team sports, water sports, climbing, fitness, martial arts, dance, gymnastics, athletics and winter sports. You can check out the all the available courses on the ZHS Webpage.

Fachschaft TUM SOM

FAQ – DIE WICHTIGSTEN FRAGEN AN DER TUM SOM

Wir haben eine Liste von FAQs erstellt, die Dir den Start Deines Studiums erleichtern sollen. Falls Deine Frage hier nicht beantwortet wird, schick uns doch eine E-mail und wir helfen Dir gerne.

Wir hoffen Du gewöhnst Dich schnell an alles, fühlst Dich hier wie zuhause und hast vor allem viel Spaß!

Technische Universität München

Was und wo ist die Fachschaft?

Die Fachschaft TUM SOM (TUM School of Management) wird ehrenamtlich von Studierenden geführt und hilft Dir bei allen Fragen, die Du hast. Wir sind immer daran unseren Studiengang zu verbessern und Dein erster Kontakt bei persönlichen Problemen oder Verbesserungsvorschlägen zu Vorlesungen.

Unsere Räumlichkeiten befinden sich im dritten Stock des TUM School of Management Gebäudes (Büro Raum 3574). Falls Du nicht in Deutschland bist oder keine Zeit hast vorbei zu schauen, kannst Du uns immer über das Kontaktformular kontaktieren.

Ich habe bis jetzt nur die englische Version der Fakultäts-Website gefunden. Wo finde ich Informationen auf Deutsch?

Die Website der Fakultät ist nur auf Englisch verfügbar. Informationen zum Studium auf Deutsch findest Du nur direkt auf unserer Website. Weitere Infos auf Englisch findest Du in der Vorstellung des Studiengangs auf der Website der Universität.

Was ist die TUM Campus App?

Die TUM Campus App ist eine Anwendung für alle Mobiltelefone mit iOS oder Android, die speziell für TUM Studierende entwickelt wurden. Nach der Anmeldung mit Deiner TUM-Online-ID soll Dir die App im täglichen Studentenleben helfen und zu Deinem zuverlässigen Begleiter auf dem Campus werden. Dazu stellt sie Dir folgende Funktionen bereit:

  • Ein Kalender mit Deinem persönlichen Zeitplan und wichtigen Terminen. Damit du nie wieder zu spät zu einer Vorlesung kommst.
  • Der RoomFinder, das nützlichste Feature für Studienanfänger. Gib einfach den Namen oder die Nummer des gesuchten Zimmers ein, und die App zeigt Dir auf einer übersichtlichen Karte, wohin Du gehen musst.
  • Der Speiseplan der Mensa wird täglich aktualisiert, so dass Du immer weißt, wann es Zeit ist, einen Ausflug in die Mensa zum Mittagessen zu machen.
  • Mit der NEWS Funktion bleibst Du immer  auf dem Laufenden was in der Fachschaft und unserer Universität passiert. Sei es eine wichtige Ankündigung, ein spannender Gastvortrag oder einfach nur ein interessanter Artikel, dann bist Du dort richtig.

Die TUM Campus App ist verfügbar im App Store und im Google Play Store.

Wo finde ich den aktuellen Stundenplan zu meinem Semester?

Im Prinzip kann man sich den Stundenplan frei und selbst zusammenstellen, solange man bestimmte Regularien einhält. Im ersten und 2. Semester TUM-BWL Bachelor solltest Du auf jeden Fall die GOPs (Grundlagenorientierungsprüfungen) belegen. Am leichtesten und meistens sinnvollsten ist es allerdings, dem vorgeschlagenen Stundenplan der Fakultät zu folgen. Links zum offiziellen Studenplan, sowie weitere nützliche Dinge findest Du hier. Deinen persönlichen Stundenplan kannst Du Dir in TUMonline -> Terminkalender jederzeit ansehen. Dort werden auch ausfallende Vorlesungen eingetragen.

Außerdem kannst Du unter TUMonline -> Studienplan -> TUM BWL B.Sc. jegliche Fächer sehen und Dir Deinen individuellen Stundenplan selber basteln.

Ich habe beobachtet, dass einige Vorlesungen aufgezeichnet werden. Wie kann ich mir diese anschauen?

Ja, das kannst Du. Alle Aufzeichnungen von Vorlesungen an der TUM School of Management werden auf Lecturio online gestellt. Dort musst Du Dich einmalig mit Deiner TUM E-Mailadresse registrieren und kannst dann alle Aufzeichnungen sogar in verschiedenen Geschwindigkeitsstufen anschauen. In den Technikfächern findest Du Aufzeichnungen häufig auf Moodle.

Wann sind die Nachholklausuren?

Die Nachholklausuren sind bei allen Vorlesungen der TUM School of Management im darauffolgenden Semester. Bei den Technikvertiefungen ist das je nach Fakultät unterschiedlich. Die Nachholklausuren von Elektro- und Informationstechnik und Maschinenbau sind wie bei unserer Fakultät im darauffolgenden Semester und deshalb auch am Anfang der Semesterferien. In den Nebenfächern Informatik und Chemie hingegen sind die Nachholklausuren am Ende der Semesterferien.

Der Termin steht offiziell erst Mitte des Semesters fest. Ein kleiner Trick: wenn Du Dir in TUM online die Raumbelegungen der gängigen Klausur-Hörsäle anschaust, findest Du manchmal einige Raumbuchungen von Klausuren. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass sich die Tage nochmal ändern, ist sehr gering. Diese Technik ist etwas aufwendig, aber leider die einzige Möglichkeit.

Kann ich mich nach Anmeldeschluss bei Prüfungen anmelden?

Die Prüfungsanmeldung erfolgt über Deinen Account bei TUMonline. Dort ist auch der Anmeldezeitraum eingespeichert. Deshalb ist es NICHT möglich, sich nach Anmeldeschluss noch bei den Prüfungen anzumelden. Auch auf Nachfrage beim Lehrstuhl oder der Fakultät kann keine Nachmeldung erfolgen, da dies nur über TUMonline erfolgen kann.

Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass Du Dich bei allen Prüfungen, die Du möglicherweise schreiben willst, rechtzeitig anmeldest. Wenn Du dann eine Prüfung nicht schreiben willst, kannst Du Dich immer noch bis eine Woche vor der Prüfung abmelden, ohne dass eine 5.0X in Deinem Notenauszug erscheint.

Ich würde gerne meine Soft-Skills verbessern und erweitern. Wo finde ich interessante Kurse?

Um deine Soft-Skills zu trainieren schaue mal im Zentrum für Schlüsselkompetenzen, bei der Carl von Linde Akademie oder der TUM School of Management (Fakultät) vorbei.

Gibt es zusätzliches Lernmaterial, welches ich über die Uni nutzen kann?

Zusätzlich zu dem Lehrmaterial auf Moodle, haben einige Fakultäten noch eigene Websites mit Lehr- und Lernmaterial. Außerdem gibt es noch viele Zusammenfassungen und Lösungen, die in Kürze auf Unistuff online gehen. Zudem gibt es Studieninhalte auf StudyDrive .

Ich beginne bald mein Studium. Brauche ich bestimmtes technisches Equipment wie zum Beispiel ein Tablet oder ähnliches?

Nein, das benötigst Du nicht zwingend. Du brauchst weder bestimmte Geräte, noch ein bestimmtes Betriebssystem. Allerdings empfehlen wir Dir sehr, entweder einen leichten Laptop oder ein Tablet zu kaufen. Solltest Du über eine Neuanschaffung nachdenken, empfehlen wir dir auf ein Gerät mit Stiftunterstützung zu setzen.  Übrigens kannst Du als Studierender der TUM viele Produkte, wie zum Beispiel Microsoft-Office, kostenlos oder vergünstigt beziehen. Falls Du keinen Computer besitzen solltest, hast Du jederzeit Zugang zu Computerräumen innerhalb des Campus.

Leben in München

Was ist das Semesterticket?

Mit Deinem TUM-Studentenausweis kannst Du unter der Woche von 18 bis 6 Uhr und am Wochenende sowie gesetzlichen Feiertagen zeitlich unbegrenzt alle öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel im MVV nutzen. Diese Leistung ist in der Studiengebühr enthalten, die Du zu Semesterbeginn bezahlst.

Das zusätzliche MVV-Semesterticket ist die IsarCard-Semester für Studierende, mit dem Du S-Bahn, U-Bahn, Busse und bestimmte Züge im MVV-Netz zeitlich unbegrenzt nutzen kannst.

Wo und wie bekommt man es?

Du kannst das Ticket an jedem MVV-Fahrkartenautomaten kaufen. Nachdem Du die TUM als Universität ausgewählt hast, musst Du Deine Matrikelnummer angeben. Hab bei der Fahrt mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln immer Deinen Studentenausweis und das Ticket dabei und hab Spaß daran, München und die umliegenden Orte zu erkunden, wann immer Du willst.

Wie funktioniert die Krankenversicherung in Deutschland?

Jeder Student in Deutschland muss eine Krankenversicherung haben. Du solltest bereits vor Deiner Ankunft in Deutschland eine Krankenversicherung haben.

Für mehr Informationen schau Dir diese Website an: https://www.studying-in-germany.org/health-insurance-germany/

Wie bekomme ich ein Bank Konto?

Es gibt viele kostenlose Angebote für Studenten:

Einen guten Überblick findest Du hier:

http://banksgermany.com/top-11-german-banks-international-students/

Hier findest Du was Du brauchst um ein Konto zu eröffnen:

https://www.expatica.com/de/finance/Opening-a-bank-account-in-Germany_100947.html

Denk dran in Deutschland wird viel mit Bargeld gezahlt. Deswegen such Dir eine Bank wo Du leicht und kostenlos an Bargeld kommst.

Viele Banken bieten heute Online-Verifizierungsmethoden an, um Deine Identität bei der Eröffnung eines Bankkontos zu überprüfen.

Wie bekomme ich eine Wohnung in München?

Eine Wohnung in München finden ist nicht einfach. Du solltest bereits früh damit anfangen.

Hier ein paar Vorschläge von uns die Dir helfen sollen schneller eine Wohnung zu finden:

  1. Frage viele verschiedenen Anbieter an, da nicht jeder antworten wird.
  2. Bereite die erforderlichen Dokumente vor. Einkommensnachweis, Garantien und sogar ein guter Lebenslauf kann beim Auswahlverfahren helfen.
  3. Mach bei Deinem Wohnungsbesichtigung einen guten Eindruck und bring die benötigten Unterlagen mit. Stell viele Fragen und zeige, dass Du interessiert bist. Und ganz wichtig lächeln nicht vergessen.
  4. Entscheide schnell, wenn Du eine positive Antwort erhältst – nicht alle Deine Besuche werden zu einer positiven Antwort des Vermieters führen. Gib zeitnah dem Vermieter eine Antwort, ansonsten könnte es sein dass die Wohnung bereits vergeben ist.

Noch ein paar Ideen wo Du suchen kannst:

Geh davon aus, dass Du einen Kompromiss zwischen Größe, Lage  und Preis eingehen musst. Die perfekte Wohnung/Zimmer gibt es vielleicht gar nicht.

Wichtig: Überweise Geld oder Kopien Deiner Dokumente niemals, wenn Du nicht zu 100% sicher bist, dass es die Wohnung tatsächlich gibt.

Wo bekomme ich günstige Möbel?

Für günstige Möbel in München gibt es mehrere Optionen.

Ikea ist eines der größten Einrichtungshäuser in München. Deren Möbel sind einfach zusammenzubauen und relativ preisgünstig. Zwei große Standorte sind: Eching und Brunnthal.

Eine andere Möglichkeit ist es, gebrauchte Möbel über Ebay Kleinanzeigen zu ersteigern. Diese sind meist in guter Qualität und oft günstiger als ein Neukauf. Es gibt eine Website oder eine App, die im App Store / Play Store verfügbar ist. Gib einfach Deine Region ein und einen Radius in dem gesucht werden soll und schon kannst Du loslegen. Zu guter Letzt gibt es noch mehrere schwarze Bretter im Mensabereich und dem StuCafe.

Sportzentrum der Universität/ ZHS (Zentraler Hochschulsport)

Was benötige ich um die Vorteile der ZHS- Einrichtungen und Kursen zu nutzen?

Jeder, der an Kursen teilnehmen oder die Einrichtungen des ZHS nutzen möchte, muss eine ZHS-Teilnehmer-ID mit den entsprechenden Marken für jeden Klasse besitzen. Die Ausweise und Semestermarken werden auf dem Campus der TUM im Olympiapark ausgestellt. Für eine ZHS-ID musst Du Folgendes mitbringen:

  • Online Bestätigung der gekauften Marken
  • Einmaliger SEPA Auftrag ( Einwilligungsformular für ein Lastschriftverfahren)
  • Studentenausweis
  • Aktuelles Passfoto (min. 2.5 ✕ 4cm) (keine Digitale Kopie)

Beachte dass die Online Bestätigung nicht die Marke ersetzt.

Was sind die Semester Marken?

Die Semestermarken sind Dein Zugangsschlüssel für die verschiedenen Bereiche von die Kurse stattfinden. Es gibt 4 verschiedenen Marken Typen: H, S, F, K

  • Wassersport im Schwimmbecken( Klassen und freies Schwimmen): Marke S
  • Alle anderen Kurse: Marke H
  • Zugang zum Fitnessstudio und Erholung: Marke H+F
  • Zugang zur Kletteranlage: Marke H+F

Für die Marken F und K brauchst Du zusätzlich eine „F-Stempel“, bzw. „K-Stempel“. Diese bekommst Du nachdem Du an einem Einführungskurs dieser Sportart teilnimmst.

Mehr Informationen findest Du auf der Website der ZHS unter FAQ.

Welche Kurse werden angeboten?

Die ZHS bietet Kurse in verschiedenen Team Sportarten, Wassersport, Klettern, Fitness, Kampfsport, Tanz, Gymnastik, Leichtathletik und Wintersport an. Alle Angebote findest Du online auf der ZHS Website.